Home » Sports » No Heisman Trophy presentation invite for Ohio State’s Braxton Miller

No Heisman Trophy presentation invite for Ohio State’s Braxton Miller

Andrew Holleran / Photo editor

Please follow and like us:

The Ohio State football team won’t be playing in a bowl game this season, and they won’t be sending any players to the Heisman Trophy ceremony either.

The finalists for the 2012 Heisman Trophy were announced Monday, and sophomore quarterback Braxton Miller wasn’t one of them.

Miller passed for 2,039 yards and 15 touchdowns, ran for 1,271 yards and 13 touchdowns and quarterbacked the Buckeyes to a 12-0 record. That was not enough, however, to earn Miller an invite to New York for Saturday’s ceremony.

The Heisman Trophy Trust invites between three and five finalists to the ceremony each year, but this year, they settled on three finalists: Kansas State senior quarterback Collin Klein, Texas A&M redshirt freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel and Notre Dame senior linebacker Manti Te’o.

While Miller will not become the first Buckeye since Troy Smith since 2006 to win the Heisman, he has taken home his fair share of hardware this season. Miller was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and Big Ten Quarterback of the Year, and was a first-team all-Big Ten selection by the media. Miller is also a finalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and the Manning Award. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.